The Indian Post Online

K'taka Cabinet Expansion: Today, 24 lawmakers will take the oath of office as ministers

The Congress administration of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will expand the cabinet one week after taking office by appointing 24 lawmakers, who will be sworn in as ministers on Saturday.

There may be 34 ministers in the Karnataka cabinet. Ten of them were sworn in on May 20, including the chief minister Siddaramaiah and his deputy D K Shivakumar.

The swearing-in will take place at 11.45 AM inside the Raj Bhavan, according to the Chief Minister's office.

Given the multitude that has gathered to see the event, security has been increased inside and outside the Raj Bhavan.

On Saturday at noon, many people, including Congress working president Eshwar Khandre and former state Congress president Dinesh Gundu Rao, will take the oath of office. They include MLAs H K Patil, Krishna Byregowda, N Cheluvarayaswamy, K Venkatesh, and H C Mahadevappa.

The following people are also on the list: Mankal Vaidya, Laxmi Hebbalkar, Rahim Khan, D Sudhakar, Santosh Lad, N S Boseraju, Suresha B S, Madhu Bangarappa, M C Sudhakar, and B Nagendra. Kyathasandra N. Rajanna, Sharanabasappa Darshanapur, Shivanand Patil, Ramappa Balappa Timmapur, S.

According to Congress sources, Laxmi Hebbalkar, Madhu Bangarappa, D Sudhakar, Cheluvaraya Swami, Mankul Vaidya, and M C Sudhakar are close to Shivakumar.

Six Lingayats and four Vokkaligas are named on the list provided by the Congress.

Two Scheduled Tribes, three Scheduled Castes, and five Other Backward Communities (Kuruba, Raju, Maratha, Ediga, and Mogaveera) are represented by MLAs.

Brahmins now have a cabinet representative in Dinesh Gundu Rao.

Seven ministers are from the Karnataka regions of Old Mysuru and Kalyana, six from Kittur, and two from central Karnataka.

According to a statement released on Friday night, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah has found a balance by providing caste- and region-based representation in addition to showing respect to both senior and younger MLAs.

Eight Lingayats would be in the government, it was also said. Different segments of the community have been represented within them.

According to the announcement, there would be five Vokkaligas, including Shivakumar.

It said that there would be nine Scheduled Caste ministers in the government.

The portfolios still haven't been assigned. By nightfall, according to state minister K H Muniyappa, the portfolios would be revealed.

During their three days in Delhi, Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar met with the party leadership on several occasions.

After hours of frantic discussion between Siddaramaiah, Shivakumar, and the top central figures, including AICC general secretary K C Venugopal and Randeep Surjewala, the names of the 24 MLAs were chosen.

The list received the final approval from former party president Rahul Gandhi and Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge.

The two Karnataka leaders had previously met Sonia Gandhi for the first time after the creation of the state's administration.

Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar had disagreements about potential ministers' names, but these were resolved throughout the negotiations, according to the sources.

As the new ministers were being sworn in, all the leaders departed from Delhi for Bengaluru.

Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu, the chief minister of Himachal Pradesh, and Hemant Soren, the chief minister of Jharkhand, also departed for the occasion on Saturday.

Related posts

Sukanya Arrest: TMC Declares It Has Zero Tolerance for Corruption But Vendetta Politics Should Not Exist


BCCI central contracts: Richa Ghosh, Jemimah Rodrigues get promotion; Shikha Pandey, Taniya Bhatia dropped | Cricket News – Times of India


Hyderabad toddler killed by automobile after being struck while napping in a parking lot